Legal Philosophy in Oxford



Oxford legal philosophers








Michelle Madden Dempsey (DPhil 2007): Worcester College Oxford (fixed-term), then Villanova University (permanent)

Matthew Harding (DPhil 2007): University of Oxford (postdoc); Melbourne University (permanent)

Amit Pundik (DPhil 2008): Hughes Hall, Cambridge (fixed- term); then Tel Aviv University (permanent)

Gregoire Webber (DPhil 2008) LSE (permanent track), then Queen’s University (Canada Research Chair, permanent)

François Tanguay-Renaud (DPhil 2008): Osgoode Hall Law School at York University, Toronto (permanent)

Richard Ekins (DPhil 2009): University of Auckland (permanent track), then University of Oxford (St John's, permanent track)

Noam Gur (DPhil 2009): Lincoln College, Oxford (postdoc), then Queen Mary University of London (permanent track)

Prince Saprai (DPhil 2009): University of warwick (fixed term) then University College, London (permanent)

Jeff King (DPhil 2009): University of Oxford (Balliol, fixed- term), then University College, London (permanent)

Paul Yowell (DPhil 2010): University of Oxford (postdoc), then University of Oxford (Oriel, permanent track)

Kai Möller (DPhil 2010): Lincoln College, Oxford (postdoc), then London School of Economics (permanent)

Tarunabh Khaitan (DPhil 2010): Christ Church, Oxford (fixed- term); then University of Oxford (Wadham, permanent track)

David Winterton (DPhil 2011): University of New South Wales (permanent track)














James Goudkamp (DPhil 2011): Jesus & Balliol Colleges, Oxford (fixed-term) then University of Oxford (Keble, permanent)

Nigam Nugehalli (DPhil 2011): BPP UNiversity (permanent track) then Azim Premji University, Bengaluru (permanent track)

Patrick O'Brien (DPhil 2011): UCL Constitution Unit (contract staff), then London School of Economics (contract staff)

Farah Ahmed (DPhil 2011): Queen's College, Oxford (fixed term); then University of Melbourne (permanent track)

Luís Duarte D'Almeida (DPhil 2011): Churchill Coll, Cambridge (postdoc), then University of Edinburgh (permanent track)

James Edwards (DPhil 2011): Christ's Coll, Cambridge (fixed- term) then University of Oxford (Worcester, permanent track)

David Tomkins (DPhil 2012): University of Newcastle, Australia (permanent track)

Adam Perry (DPhil 2012): University of Aberdeen, then Queen Mary University of London (both permanent track)

Robert Simpson (DPhil 2013): Monash University, Melbourne (permanent track)

Francisco Urbina (DPhil 2013): Princeton (postdoc) then Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (permanent track)

Shivprasad Swaminathan (DPhil 2013): O.P. JIndal Global University, Delhi (permanent track)

Paul McMahon (DPhil 2013), Harvard University (fixed term) then London School of Economics (permanent track)

Jesse Wall (DPhil 2013): Merton College, Oxford (postdoc) then University of Otago (permanent track)

Jonas-Sébastien Beaudry (DPhil 2014): McGill University (postdoc); from 2015 University of British Columbia (permanent track)

James Grant (DPhil 2014): University of Sheffield (permanent track)

Benjamin Spagnolo (DPhil 2014): Christ Church, Oxford (fixed- term)

Kate Greasley (DPhil 2014): University College, Oxford (postdoc)

Raquel Barradas de Freitas (DPhil 2014): University College London (contract staff)



If you should be on this list but aren't, or need to correct some information, please contact John Gardner or Les Green. We are working on extending the list back before 2007.